The Kids go Airborne at Cusses! Airborne Gunner Youth Supercross presented by O’Neal!

There can be no doubt that ‘The kids are alright’ as they opened up part one of the 2022 ‘Airborne Gunner’ Supercross event with some simply superb action. On another very hot mid Summer’s day, the Steel Hawk MCC worked wonders to create a spectacular track and with conditions which was fitting of the occasion. And after three sweltering blocks of high flying Supercross, eventual winners were Austin Edwards (Auto’s A Final), Callum Garrett (Auto’s B Final), Henry Lewis (65cc Juniors A Final), Lucas Groves (65cc Juniors B Final), Harrison Schofield (SW85cc), Isaac Ash (BW85cc) and Raide Broadley (Youth).

Starting with the Auto’s, the size of the entry meant that the class had to be split and eventually decided by an ‘A’ and ‘B’ final. In the qualifying races, Jimmy Ball, Finlee Pope and Austin Edwards(2) won a race each. After those clashes it was down to the final and after Callum Garrett took ‘B’ honours the ‘A’ clash was to be a cracker. Pope got away and led but was soon under pressure from Edwards. Eventually Edwards squeezed by and then moments later Pope fell. So on completion it was Edwards from Ball while Tyler Moss just held onto 3rd despite a late challenge from the recovering Pope.

In the Juniors 65cc, Henry Lewis started and finished with wins, taking the first race ahead of Jay-J Cooper and Elliott Shawyer then storming to victory in the ‘A’ final. Ralfie Holloway was also impressive in this class but unfortunately crashed out in the final. Thankfully, Ralfie who had earlier won race two of the contest was able to eventually remount and still finish the final. As mentioned earlier, Lucas Groves was first past the post in the B Final chased home by Oliver Morris and schoolgirl Ava-Mae Hulbert.

There was to be no doubting the winner of the SW85cc contest as Harrison Schofield won all three moto’s in style with on each occasion Joel Winstanley-Dawson chasing him home. Equally Isaac Ash was very convincing as he stormed to maximum points in the BW85cc class. Ash was defending his ‘Airborne Gunner’ title and certainly did it in style. Harry Lee and Riley Voase was the next best in this one.

Isaac Ash the BW85cc winner

Charley Irwin was first past the post in the opening Youth Class moto before 2021 Rookie 125cc winner before Riade Broadley took control.And in claiming both of his wins he had to overcome a very fast starting Josh Basset. Indeed the last moto was a thriller as Basset got away first before Broadley gradually ground him down and found a way through. So with part one done which was very kindly supported by legendary MX clothing brand O’Neal and additional prizes from Ogio, Fist Gloves, FMF Goggles and Ducksmart, it’s now time for part two when the Pro’s and Adults go racing.

Charley Irwin, 3rd in the Youth


Auto’s A Final 1 Austin Edwards 2 Jimmy Ball 3 Tyler Moss.
Auto’s B Final 1 Callum Garrett 2 Oliver Hogg 3 Oliver Watts.
Juniors 65cc A Final 1 Henry Lewis 2 Elliott Shawyer 3 Jay J Cooper.
Juniors 65cc B Final 1 Lucas Groves 2 Oliver Morris 3 Ava-Mae Hulbert.
SW85cc 1 Harrison Schofield 2 Joel Winstanley-Dawson 3 Finlay Stead.
BW85cc 1 Isaac Ash 2 Harry Lee 3 Riley Voase.
Youth 1 Raide Broadley 2 Josh Basset 3 Charley Irwin.

For full results go to

Report and Images by Mike Wood


Continue reading...